Our Hawker Centres – A Heritage & Art Project, is jointly organised by the National Environment Agency (NEA) and National Heritage Board (NHB), and in partnership with the National Arts Council (NAC) and Nippon Paint. The initiative aims to raise public awareness of the heritage and cultural value of Singapore’s hawker centres and the areas they are located in. It celebrates Singapore’s unique hawker culture and also highlights the heritage of our neighbourhoods through incorporating art within existing hawker centres.

The initiative was officially announced on 4 April 2015 at Mayflower Market and Food Centre (also known as Blks 160/162 Ang Mo Kio Ave 4) by Second Minister for the Environment and Water Resources, Ms Grace Fu.

Till date, the initiative has seen more than 70 schools and organizations creating 133 wall murals and art installations in 44 of our centres. The photos of the murals and art installations have been collected and compiled in a commemorative book.

School of Design participated in this meaningful project and our mural wall design is located at Chinatown Complex (CC) entrance’s side – at the cross junction of Trengganu St & Smith St (behind Tooth Relic Temple).

The artwork is also featured on the printed book Our Hawker Centres – A Heritage & Art Project – A Commemorative Collection of Murals and Art Installations on page 65. As seen in the e-copy (page 67).

The closing ceremony on 1 August 2015 was at the Jurong Community Club by Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Adviser to Jurong GRC Grassroots Organisations, Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam. 

#sgmuralbrucelee on Facebook.

Click here to view the work in progress on Youtube
Click here to view how much people love our #sgmuralbrucelee on Instagram 


Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance, Adviser to Jurong GRC Grassroots Organisations, Mr Tharman Shanmugaratnam.

Closing Ceremony_r2

Chua Ai Liang, Director (Arts & Communities) of National Arts Council (NAC), Wong Si-Y (Project Manager) and Ang Choon Seng Jeffrey, representing School of Design, Temasek Polytechnic.

Si_Y_Shuh li_r

Wong Si-Y and Chua Shuh Li, Hawker Centres Division of National Environment Agency (NEA)

Award with Jolene r

Jolene Ong Shi Lin and Wong Si-Y 

NEA Award Si_Y w Shuen_Khalif r

Chua Shuen-Zhi, Wong Si-Y, Nor Khalif Bin Eddie Rahim 

NEA Award r

NEA’s press release.